Posted by: Eric and Heidi | July 21, 2014

Beautiful.

Have you have seen the trend circulating around Facebook recently where women nominate their friends to share five pictures of themselves where they feel the most beautiful?  As the mother of two daughters, I’m all about women embracing their self-worth and being proud of who they are.  It’s been interesting, though, to see what pictures my friends have chosen.  If a picture is worth a thousand words, then my friends have unwittingly been giving five thousand word monologues on how they view themselves.  In this house, we’re all about Girl Power.  A beautiful woman is more than a pretty face.  A beautiful woman is smart and strong, kind and courageous.  I am beautiful.  Here’s why…

I AM SMART.

I AM SMART.

 

It’s wasn’t easy to earn my Master’s…while living abroad…with a newborn…while my husband was flying back and forth to Africa most of the time.  But I did it.  I am smart.

 

I AM STRONG.

I AM STRONG.

Lia’s journey home to us was the most harrowing experience of my life.  Each day required more strength than I ever suspected I had.  But I did it.  I took each blow; shouldered every burden.  And I loved.  I loved big when I had little reason to hope and everything to lose.  That is strength.

I AM KIND.

I AM KIND.

Finding a picture for this one was tricky.  I’d like to think I habitually show kindness to those around me.  As it turns out, though, I rarely snap a photo while doing it.  But here’s one!  While teaching in Delaware, I led my students each year in a fundraising drive to support World Vision.  One year I promised that if they hit a certain mark, I’d turn my very blonde hair very, very pink.  They delivered and I delivered, too.  The fact that I used temporary color because my brother’s wedding was two days later also shows kindness, don’t you think?

I AM COURAGEOUS.

I AM COURAGEOUS.

Being a military wife is not always easy.  Since Eric and I have been a “us”, we have experienced two deployments to the desert, four new assignments, five home changes, and more TDYs than I can even count!  I have moved us by myself, gone to meet our children by myself, vacationed by myself, and traveled with the kids by myself (even internationally!)  I’ve given up jobs, homes, and friends by the dozen.  This doesn’t make me special.  This doesn’t make me unique.  This is just what military wives do.  It takes courage…and I have it.

I AM BEAUTIFUL.

I AM BEAUTIFUL … for all the reasons that really matter.  That’s beauty.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

